No.101 Nakamura Castle Ruins

Nakamura Castle was built in 1611 and the seat of the regional government for 260 years before being torn down. Its grounds are now Baryo Park and still feature the castle’s stone walls, earthworks and moats. Around 600 somei yoshino are planted here, attracting visitors in the day and at night when the trees are lit up by paper lanterns. Soma Nakamura-jinja Shrine is also here and has horses that visitors can ride and feed.


General information

Address 140 Aza Kitamachi, Nakamura, Soma, Fukushima Prefecture (福島県相馬市中村字北町140)
Peak bloom Mid-to-late April
Access by train About 20 minutes on foot from Soma Station on the JR Joban Line
Access by car 1 hour 30 minutes from Fukushima-nishi IC